May 27, 2011

Review: Unsavory Delicacies by Russell Brooks

Unsavory Delicacies
Author: Russell Brooks
Purchase Information:
Amazon | Barnes & Noble

*Short story anthologies provided by the author for a honest review

For more information please visit Russell Brooks' website.

A three-course story collection with a side-order of revenge.


For fans of Barry Eisler, Robert Ludlum, and Clive Cussler. Three short stories of suspense with unsavory results.

Crème Brûlé—Rogue operative, Monique Beauvais, cons a software genius into selling her a coveted technology that would allow its user to control CIA drones while they’re in flight. And she will go as far as killing him in public in order to have it.

To the Last Bite—A renowned food critic—whose scathing reviews have closed down restaurants—gets a savoury surprise.

Shashlyk and Morezhenoe—CIA operative, Ridley Fox, leads a team against one of Russia’s most powerful crime families. He discovers secrets, but not one that he was expecting to find.

Three stories with three consequences. All containing three Unsavory Delicacies.

Unsavory Delicacies by Russell Brooks takes place within the same world as his novel Pandora's Succession featuring many of the same characters and the same clandestine organizations. At something like thirty pages, this is a quick nibble that definitely has it's share of action, thrills and chills.

Given that this short anthology is so, well, short, I don't want to go in to much detail that will give away any of the tasty --erm, tasteless-- treats within. What I can say is that each of these 'delicacies' is action packed, well developed and extremely well thought out giving the reader a tempting sample of the world surround Ridley Fox and the nefarious Arms of Ares organization.

Given the length, I can honestly say I was a bit surprised at how well developed and entertaining this little tid-bits were. They each had great action, a nicely developed premise and even delivered some creepy chills a la 'Tales from the Crypt'. The writing was superb, flowing and fast paced creating an engaging read that will give readers unfamiliar with Brooks' previous works a decadent sampler leaving them eager for the main course.

Overall, while this short-order anthology is only thirty pages, it is an entertaining read that was wonderful fun filled with some great action and intrigue. If you need something to read on the go, then is definitely a great choice!

My Rating: 4 out of 5 Scars

1 comment:

Offbeat Vagabond said...

Great review hon. I haven't read a lot of anthologies or mysteries. But this does sound pretty intriguing. I am really surprised to hear how in depth this is. Most short stories are a prequel to something or aren't fully developed. Sounds like Russell Brooks packed a punch in just 30 pages! I am definitely adding this to my TBR list. Thank you hon for the great post :)